Ease on Down the Road Trip Mix

Screen Shot 2016-02-09 at 9.40.26 PM
Going on a road trip with me is like having an adorable singing street urchin hitch a ride on your carriage. Image courtesy Les Mis Wiki.

Reading week is about to begin and my plans – outside of cramming in as much homework as possible, of course – include a road trip with my fiancé. As everyone knows, a road trip is awful without good tunes to make the drive easier. And you can bet that my road trip playlist will have a good chunk of showtunes in it. (And Justin Timberlake for my fiancé. He can recite “Mirrors” better than I can, and I was the *NSYNC fangirl. Sorry, babe.)

He used to not like musical theatre (until I came along), but now, he tells me he listens to Hamilton out of his own free will (see? I was so right to put a ring on that). But he’s going to regret it when I make him perform Cabinet Battle #1 with me and demolish him with my sweet rhymes.

I decided to not put any Hamilton songs on my road trip playlist because let’s be real – we’re going to listen to the album in its entirety anyway. But otherwise, enjoy some highlights of what you would find me singing on our 16 hour trek. And I’m always open to suggestions (unless it’s from Cats).

IMG_2910
The beau and I before we saw Rodgers + Hammerstein’s Cinderella last July. 

“Anything Goes” from Anything Goes, 2011
I don’t talk about classic musicals a lot, and it’s because I have admittedly very little experience with them, but Sutton Foster is incredible. Her turn as Reno Sweeney earned her the second Tony in her collection. I like to pretend I can hit the high note at the end (as with most high notes), and to be honest, I love the sound of tap dancing.

“The Bitch of Living” from Spring Awakening
Spring Awakening is one of my favourite shows that nobody has heard of, which is strange, because it won Best Musical and made waves recently when the sign language-based revival hit Broadway. This angst-filled teen anthem is the theatre equivalent of Nirvana (or whatever the kids are listening to these days) and tremendously fun to sing while imagine you’re stomping on tabletops. Not to mention, it’s all sung by men, which means it’s in my range. Nice.

“96,000” from In The Heights
I stopped myself from including Hamilton, but couldn’t leave Lin-Manuel out completely. Heights earned Lin (we’re on a first-name basis, apparently) his G and T in EGOT and began the foundation for hip hop in theatre. This song has the same intricate rhymes as Ham and is equally as fun to sing.

“Rose’s Turn” from Gypsy, 2008
The Patti LuPone version – although, I’ve had playlists where this version, the Bernadette Peters version, and the Imelda Staunton version all live together in peace. The ultimate diva anthem sung by the ultimate diva.

“I Have Confidence” from The Sound of Music
Every time I watch this movie, I wish Julie Andrews was my nanny/third grandma/fairy godmother. And, quite frankly, this is one of the most underrated songs in the whole show. This song has become my mantra for when I need to build up the courage to do something I’m anxious about and it’s one of my favourite songs ever.

“And I Am Telling You” from Dreamgirls
The Broadway karaoke anthem. It needs no explanation.

What would you put on your Broadway road trip playlist? Leave me a comment and let me know!

 

 

 

One thought on “Ease on Down the Road Trip Mix

Leave a Reply

